Why School has Ruined Everyone

Image

School. We all hate it. I don’t care who you are, if you are a teenager and you say you like school, you’re A) lying through your teeth or B) one of those that don’t care and are failing at your own willingness because “YOLO”.

I am a 17 year old teenager that goes to the horrible institution that every adult claims will better my future, every single day, eight hours a day, five days a week. I got a 900 on the SAT, 20 on the ACT, I have a 3.1 GPA. I’m here to voice my opinion on why school has ruined everyone.

I will be the very first to admit that I am not perfect, and I do not always react appropriately in situations. I will openly admit that I do not and will not ever pay attention to lectures in math, and I sas my teacher pretty much every day. But, this does not make me a lazy teenager. I am a human-being that is simply worn out and extremely stressed from the excessive testing and standards, that are supposedly trying to “see if we are learning”. I’m stressed because everyone and their mother is constantly comparing me to every other teenager out there. Since I don’t have a 4.0 GPA and I didn’t make a better than perfect score on the SAT, I guess I’m going to be scrubbing toilets for the rest of my life in the McDonald’s bathroom. I don’t understand the pressures of being perfect. God did NOT put us on this earth to be perfect, he put us on this earth to be human. I see so many people turning to self-harm and they’re depressed, and they have panic attacks every single day, all because they made an 87 on a test, instead of a 90. It’s amazing to me that getting 3 less questions right on a national test will determine if you get into college or not. Does three questions seriously determine a students future now? That’s so sickening to me.

I have a D average in Social Studies. Yes, a big ol 71 average. I know what you’re thinking: “she should just study more”, “I guarantee if I tutored her she would have an A”, “Well, she’s just lazy”. What if I told you that I take notes on every lecture the teacher gives, that I do every extra credit assignment given out, that I spend 4-5 hours a night studying, and I still can’t make higher than a 65 on tests or quizzes. Then what would you say? I am a strong believer that multiple choice tests are nit the best way to determine how much a person knows. I could tell you everything there is to know about the bone in the human body, but as soon as you give me a test on it it’s like I didn’t listen to anything the teacher said for the past two weeks lecturing. I have extreme test anxiety. I have panic attacks before every test administered to me. Why? Because I know that my best isn’t good enough. Someone may ask, “Well how do you expect colleges to know if a person is up to their standards?” …. HELLO?! Are you STUPID? Why do you think there are so many different majors to choose from? Because people have different strengths and weaknesses! Solution: test every student for their different learning styles, and test their knowledge that way. Too much work you say? Well guess what? You’re what’s wrong with school these days.

I used to be happy. All the time. Nothing annoyed me and I never yelled, like, ever. I’m not happy anymore because I’m extremely sleep deprived. I can’t be happy because I have to be up at the butt crack of dawn every single morning at 5:45, to be at school at 7:10. I’m extremely sleep deprived. Teachers and administrators expect us to be up early and function properly, so that we can regurgitate information, to prove our worth. I don’t care what anyone says, this is abuse. You want to know why we’re sleeping through teachers lectures, why we look mad all the time? Because none of us are getting enough sleep! Teachers give us excessive amounts of homework after being locked up in an insane asylum for 7 hours, and then expect it to be done the next day. And they don’t take into account that most of us have after school commitments. If its not a sport, it’s a job. And most of us have jobs because we have to pay for everything ourselves, in addition to saving for college. Incase you are a teacher, you do realize that a teenager needs eight hours of sleep at night to function properly. And incase you aren’t a math major, let me lay it out nice and simple for you: 7:10am-2:10pm (7 hours of school) + 2:10pm-5:00pm (3 hours of sports/job) + 5:00pm-7:00pm (2 more if you have a job) + 7:00pm-11:00pm (4 hours of homework). 11:00pm-5:45am (sleeping). That’s barely 7 hours of sleep. Now imagine that every day. Incase you still aren’t convinced…
-Accidents
-Dumbs You Down (hmmm I wonder why none of us are doing as well as we could)
-Leads to serious Health Problems (Diabetes, heart attack, strokes, etc)
-leads to depression
-leads to skin problems
-forgetfulness
-weight gain
-Risk of death
-Impairs Judgement

Teachers treat us like we are criminals. Now, this is a general statement. I’ve had some pretty amazing teachers. But I have also had some pretty awful ones too. Yes, I understand I’m seventeen, yes, I understand you’re an adult. But guess what? If you treat me like an adult, maybe I wouldn’t act like a criminal. Since when did wearing a headband make me want to bring a knife into school and stab everybody? Since when did hanging a bandana on my backpack make me a gang member? And since when did showing my shoulders make me a slut? And I’m not just taking about dress code. I went in to ask my math teacher about my grade and started completely disregarding me. Apparently, since I’m 17 you’re allowed to treat me like I’m stupid.

I have many more opinions on why school has ruined us all. Maybe I’ll post more about it in the future, but for now, This is my two cents. Feel free to comment any opinions you have. I would love to hear it!

Picture property of transformationblog.com

Leave a Reply

